Athletes were once again greeted by stellar conditions at Lake Karapiro on day three of the Aon Maadi Cup

A full schedule of repechage races was completed with all crews laying it on the line fighting for the semi-final or final positions.

Girls’ U16 Double

Tayla Malcomson and Sammie Chamberlain of Macleans College and Huanui College’s Kala Payinda and Lucy Nichols took first and second place in Repechage one of the girls’ U16 double, each securing a spot in the Semi-Final. Heat two saw Whangarei High School’s Grace Candy and Olivia Smith and ACG Strathallan’s Ella Wallace and Phoebe Twiselton also move through to the Semi-Final. All other crews were eliminated.

Boys’ U15 Double

Macleans Colleges’ Logan Turrall and James Dimock won their boys’ U15 double Repechage only 0.08 seconds ahead of Ryan Egan and Archie Chittock of Otago Boys' High School. Each crew will challenge the A Final alongside Repechage two’s first and second placing crews Blake Parker and Josh Bartlett (Timaru Boys’ High School) and Andrew Greig and Cam Scott (St Andrew’s College).

Girls’ U17 Coxed Four

Queen Margaret College’s Florence Bygraves, Mia Holden, Scarlett Treadwell, Bianca Martin and Isabel Knight (cox) won Repechage one of the girls’ U17 coxed four. Whanganui Collegiate Schools’ Gretel Murphy, Anna Bullock, Emily McKinlay, Olivia Leask and Bridget Jones Long (cox) won Repechage two.

Boys’ Novice Double

Takapuna Grammar Schools’ Aidan Moore and Hudson Curren won Repechage one of the boys’ novice double with Harrison McGregor and Noah Kellett of Aquinas College winning Repechage two. The first and second placing crews of each Repechage move through to the A Final with all other crews.

Girls’ U18 Eight

Baradene College Tara Williams (stroke), Aliana Henderson, Charlotte Rattray, Sophie Robinson, Harriet Burrell, Rose Hunter, Jessica O'Connell, Addison Peebles and Isabella Donovan (cox) won Repechage one of the girls’ U18 eight. Auckland Diocesan’s Charlie Barclay, Serena Bhindi, Natalie Kirke, Ella Ross, Katie Ryan, Gretta Wiseman, Jasmine Ireland, Imogen Foley and Lauren Williams (cox) won Repechage two, with both crews moving through to the A Final.

Boys’ U18 Eight

Christ Colleges’ Edward Botherway, Oscar Todhunter, Abe McArthur, Jono Henderson, Thomas Johnston, Gus McQuarrie, Toby Beresford, Hamish Grigg and Jake Cutler (cox) won Repechage one of the boys’ U18 eight. Cashmere High School’s Oscar Clatworthy, Sam Clelland, William Anderson, Henry Clatworthy, George Higgins, James Martin, Pablo Fitzgerald, Sam Evans and Eva Pepperell (cox) won Repechage two, with both crews moving to the A Final.

Tomorrow’s racing will see Semi-Finals take place.

How to follow all the action

  • A full event schedule, entries and live results are available on
  • An event programme is available online at The event programme contains Finals race schedules, competing club codes and colours, full 2021 entries, and details of all trophies and all historic results.
  • A live stream of racing will be available on Friday 26 and Saturday 27 March at
  • Photos, videos and updates will be posted regularly on the Aon Maadi Cup's Instagram and Facebook platforms
  • SKY Sports will screen a highlights package on the 2021 Aon Maadi Cup from 1 April

Principal Sponsor

Fostering secondary school rowing is incredibly important – it generates talent for future New Zealand representatives, but more importantly it helps grow New Zealand’s youth into great people. Aon New Zealand has a strong record of supporting young New Zealanders, assisting them to achieve their potential in the sports of their choosing.

In recent years their support has stretched to working with secondary schools directly and providing much needed equipment. The Aon Maadi Cup remains one of the biggest secondary school sporting events in New Zealand and we’re proud to work alongside Aon to bring it to life each year.